Intended for healthcare professionals


Economic downturn threatens to derail millennium development goals

BMJ 2009; 338 doi: (Published 29 January 2009) Cite this as: BMJ 2009;338:b340

Seven Deadly Sins

Christianity supplements the Ten Commandments with the Seven Deadly Sins,
which are lust, envy, gluttony, sloth, greed, anger, and pride. These sins
pertain to individuals, but not to groups, and thereby, exonerate societal sins.
The Seven Deadly Sins should be supplemented with Society’s Seven Deadly
Sins, which are hunger, thirst, homelessness, sickness, illiteracy, bigotry, and
poverty. These sins violate basic human rights and reflect institutionalized
societal neglect. Let’s evaluate and grade societies accordingly.

Competing interests:
None declared

Competing interests: No competing interests

10 February 2009
Hugh Mann
Eagle Rock, MO 65641 USA