Intended for healthcare professionals


General election: 10 doctors are elected as MPs

BMJ 2019; 367 doi: (Published 13 December 2019) Cite this as: BMJ 2019;367:l6976
  1. Tom Moberly,
  2. Gareth Iacobucci
  1. The BMJ

Ten doctors have been elected as MPs in the 2019 UK general election. With one seat remaining to be declared on 13 December 2019, the Conservatives have won 364 seats, giving them a majority of 76.

More than 50 doctors stood as prospective parliamentary candidates in the 2019 general election, with most representing the Conservative Party or the Liberal Democrats.1

Of the 10 doctors elected, eight represent the Conservative Party, while Labour’s Rosena Allin-Khan (an emergency medicine doctor) held her seat in Tooting, south London, and the Scottish National Party’s Philippa Whitford (a breast surgeon) did so in Central Ayrshire.

Three of the eight Tory doctors are newly elected, two of whom won their seats from Labour: James Davies (a GP, elected in Vale of Clwyd) and Kieran Mullan (an emergency medicine doctor, Crewe and Nantwich). The third, Ben Spencer (a …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription