Intended for healthcare professionals

Feature The BMJ Awards 2017

The BMJ launches ninth medical awards

BMJ 2016; 355 doi: (Published 19 October 2016) Cite this as: BMJ 2016;355:i5618
  1. Nigel Hawkes, journalist, London, UK
  1. nigel.hawkes1{at}

Nigel Hawkes explains how to enter and talks to some previous winners

The annual search for excellence in healthcare has begun once more with the opening of nominations for the ninth BMJ Awards, the competition in which the best initiatives from across the UK are invited to compete for the prestigious recognition.

This year, as last, there are 15 entry categories covering the whole of medicine from bench to bedside, not forgetting that the way services are planned and delivered is the key to providing effective care. Past winners represent the best that doctors and the NHS can achieve, with tough times putting an ever greater value on innovation and cost-effectiveness.

Some awards—such as those for primary care, cardiology, cancer, education and innovation—are included every year, while permutation of the many other possible categories aims to ensure that over time all specialties get their …

View Full Text