Intended for healthcare professionals

Feature BMJ Awards South Asia 2016

BMJ Awards South Asia 2016: Nominate a healthcare champion today

BMJ 2016; 353 doi: (Published 30 June 2016) Cite this as: BMJ 2016;353:i3652
  1. Jeetha D’Silva, journalist
  1. Mumbai
  1. j.dsilva{at}

Help The BMJ celebrate all the best in South Asian healthcare, with winners to be announced at a ceremony in New Delhi on 19 November, writes Jeetha D’Silva. Submit your nominations now at—and good luck!

A new search for South Asia’s champions of healthcare has begun. The BMJ invites nominations of exemplary work in medical practice from doctors and healthcare organisations in eight countries—Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

The BMJ Awards South Asia was launched in 2015 to recognise and celebrate excellence in healthcare in the region. The awards are inspired by the BMJ Awards, which started in 2009 and recognise excellence among the global healthcare community.1

The organisers hope the awards will inspire further advances in healthcare throughout the region, said Prashant Jha, a senior editor with The BMJ.

The 10 categories in this year’s awards include Infectious Diseases Initiative of the Year, Non-Communicable Disease Initiative of the Year, and Excellence in Delivering Primary Care.

A new category, Recognition for Promoting Integrity/Transparency in Healthcare, will honour individuals or organisations that can demonstrate efforts to counter corruption in medicine. “The BMJ is not just a journal, it’s a movement,” said Jha, emphasising that The BMJ campaigns for high standards of ethics in medicine …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription