Regulators to take over running of three failing NHS areas in England

BMJ 2015; 350 doi: (Published 04 June 2015) Cite this as: BMJ 2015;350:h3065
  1. Caroline White
  1. 1Liverpool

Essex, North Cumbria, and North, East, and West Devon will be the first three NHS areas in England to be subject to a new “whole systems, collaborative” approach to rooting out longstanding and entrenched problems in health and care services, NHS England’s chief, Simon Stevens, has announced.

Speaking at the annual conference of the NHS Confederation in Liverpool on 3 June Stevens said that the “success regimes” would tackle problems in localities where repeated remedial action had failed.

“We all know that there are parts of the country in systematic imbalance, in terms of either their quality, or the structure of their services, or their ability to make …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription