Intended for healthcare professionals


Fifteen countries are at risk of Ebola outbreak, says WHO

BMJ 2014; 349 doi: (Published 17 October 2014) Cite this as: BMJ 2014;349:g6305
  1. Anne Gulland
  1. 1London

The World Health Organization has drawn up a list of 15 countries that are most at risk of an outbreak of Ebola virus disease. The countries have land borders or strong trade and travel routes to the three most affected countries, Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone, and health systems that are not strong enough to cope with a potential outbreak.

The 15 are Mali, Ivory Coast, Senegal, and Guinea-Bissau (the four countries bordering the three affected countries) and Benin, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, South Sudan, Nigeria, Mauritania, Togo, and Burkina Faso.

Isabelle Nuttall, WHO’s director of global capacities, alert, and response, told a press conference …

View Full Text