Israeli medical humanitarian group is to share alternative Nobel prize

BMJ 2010; 341 doi: (Published 04 October 2010) Cite this as: BMJ 2010;341:c5497
  1. Judy Siegel-Itzkovich
  1. 1 Jerusalem

The Tel Aviv based Physicians for Human Rights-Israel will share the “alternative Nobel prize” for its work, which includes helping Palestinians, migrant workers, and refugees. The prize, the Right Livelihood Award, was established in 1980 to “honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges” and will be awarded in the Swedish parliament in Stockholm on 6 December, four days before the official Nobel prize ceremony.

Physicians for Human Rights-Israel, founded in 1988 by the Israeli physician Ruhama Marton, has Jewish and Arab Israeli members, who pledge to prevent …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription