Intended for healthcare professionals


Nominations open for next year’s BMJ Group awards

BMJ 2009; 339 doi: (Published 16 September 2009) Cite this as: BMJ 2009;339:b3766
  1. Nigel Hawkes
  1. 1London

The BMJ Group Awards are back—bigger, better, and with a stronger international flavour. Nominations are sought for 11 awards, to be presented at a gala evening at the Hilton, Park Lane, London, next spring.

Last year’s awards attracted a remarkably strong entry and were reported worldwide. The lifetime achievement award, voted for by readers of the BMJ, went to Judith Mackay, a leader in the battle against tobacco. Who’ll win the 2010 award? Nominations close on 15 November, and award winners will be announced on 10 March.

“The 2009 awards were a bit of an experiment for us,” admits Fiona Godlee, editor of the BMJ. “But it was soon clear from the high quality of the entries and from the feedback we got from nominees, winners, and sponsors that we should continue to run the awards. They clearly provide an important platform for celebrating the very best in health care internationally.”

The 2010 awards will show a slight shift in emphasis, with greater importance attached to a theme central to the BMJ Group: getting research into practice. This subject forms a category …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription