Nobel prize is awarded to doctors who discovered H pylori

BMJ 2005; 331 doi: (Published 06 October 2005) Cite this as: BMJ 2005;331:795
  1. Geoff Watts
  1. London

    In choosing Barry Marshall and Robin Warren as winners of the 2005 prize in physiology or medicine, the Nobel awards committee has turned away from basic research this year and plumped instead for old fashioned medical detective work.

    Professor Marshall, 54, and Dr Warren, 68, are cited for their 1982 discovery of “the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.” What the brevity of that citation conceals is the extent to which their work opened the …

    View Full Text

    Log in

    Log in through your institution


    * For online subscription