For healthcare professionals only


BMA NOTICE: BMA council: candidates in 1998–2000 election

BMJ 1998; 316 doi: (Published 07 February 1998) Cite this as: BMJ 1998;316:l

The candidates for the election in the BMA council, 1998-2000, are listed below. Ballot papers will be issued on 16 February in those categories where an election will be held, and the results will be announced in the BMJ on 28 March.

In the United Kingdom craft elections and in the regional elections for senior hospital doctors only those BMA members in the relevant crafts may vote. In the remaining regional and country elections members may vote only for candidates in their own region or country. For the election of the four United Kingdom seats the ballot is open to all members in the United Kingdom.


Four members to represent and be elected by all members in the United Kingdom:

Sam Everington, London

Ian Banks, Spa, Northern Ireland

J Stuart Horner, Preston

Shehnaz Somjee, Liverpool

Peter Bennie, Glasgow

Mark Porter, Burbage, Leicestershire

Raj Chandran, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire

Margaret Elmes, Dinas Powys

Stephen Robert Brennan, Sheffield

Alex Freeman, Southampton

Tony Mander, Oxford

George Kaithyil Ninan, Aberdeen

Bellipady Sudharam Rai, Nottingham …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription