BMA commends changes to merit award system

BMJ 1995; 310 doi: (Published 03 June 1995) Cite this as: BMJ 1995;310:1430

Consultants' leaders in Britain are commending new arrangements to replace the C award element of the distinction awards scheme. The draft agreement means that from 1 April 1996 five additional discretionary points on the national consultant salary scale will replace C awards. The fifth point will have the same value as the current C award—at present 4377 doctors receive a C award of pounds sterling10490.

The points will be awarded at trust level according to national criteria similar to those …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription