Intended for healthcare professionals

Views And Reviews

Chairman of new NHS regions announced

BMJ 1994; 308 doi: (Published 05 February 1994) Cite this as: BMJ 1994;308:418

The chairmen and boundaries of the eight NHS regions which will from the new management of the NHS in England from 1 April were announced this week. They include six chairmen of the existing 14 regions and two new names.

The regions are an interim arrangement until they are replaced in 1996 by regional offices of the NHS Management Executive and are as originally proposed (30 October 1993, p 1091), with one change. East and West Cumbria will become part of a new Northern and Yorkshire region, not the North West. This takes account of local views and reflects natural lines of communication and existing patterns of patient referral. South Cumbria will be part of the North West region.

Mrs Virginia Bottomley, secretary of state for health, said that the changes represent a major step forward in the drive to streamline NHS management, though she did not confirm unofficial estimates of 2000 fewer staff. Emphasising the importance of postgraduate medical education she pledged that links with local universities would be maintained.

The new regional chairmen, who will also be members of the NHS Policy Board, will be paid (Pounds Sterling)20 925, the same as at present.

The full list is:

  • Northern and Yorkshire (renamed from North East and Yorkshire) - Mr John Greetham, farmer, previously vice chairman of Yorkshire Regional Health Authority (RHA).

  • Anglia and Oxford (renamed from East Anglian and Oxford) - Dr Stuart Burgess, Chairman of Oxford RHA.

  • Trent - Sir Michael Carlisle, chairman of Trent RHA. At the end of July he will be succeeded by Mr Keith Ackroyd, retail managing director of Boots.

  • North Thames - Sir William Staveley, chairman …

View Full Text

Log in

Log in through your institution


* For online subscription