## B.M.A Prizes 1973

The B.M.A. Board of Science and Education has awarded the following prizes:

- (1) The Sir Charles Hastings Prizecertificate and £125 for research and record in general practice-to Dr. Ian Gregg, of London, for his entry entitled "The role of acute episodes of respiratory infection in the pathogenesis of chronic obstructive bronchitis."
- (2) The Charles Oliver Hawthorne Prize certificate and £100 for runner up in the Sir Charles Hastings Prize Competitionto Dr. Kenneth D. Salzmann, of Reading, for his entry entitled "A labour saving manoeuvre.'
- (3) The Doris Odlum Prize—certificate and £100 for research in mental health-to Dr. Michael Craft, of Llanfairfechan, for his entry entitled "A description of a new community forensic psychiatric service for doctors."
- (4) The Occupational Health Prizecertificate and £100 for research in the field

- of occupational health—to Dr. J. A. Thom, surgeon commander, Royal Navy, Plymstock, for his entry entitled "Morbidity of personnel of British strategic nuclear submarines during prolonged submergence."
- (5) The Katherine Bishop Harman Prize-certificate and £100 for research on preventive care in the field of pregnancy and childbearing—to Dr. P. Buchan, of St. Andrew's, for his entry entitled "The development of an 'on-line' computer system for the prevention of maternal and fetal injury during labour."
- (6) The Nathaniel Bishop Harman Prize-certificate and £250 for research in hospital practice-to Dr. Peter Lee, previously of Glasgow, for his entry entitled "A new look at an old remedy in rheumatoid arthritis: study of the effects of hospitalization and bed rest on joint inflammation."
- The Brackenbury Prize—certificate and £100 for the best essay on a set subject

of immediate practical importance with regard to public health or some medicopolitical or medicosociological problem-to Professor T. A. Ramsay, of Aberdeen, for his entry on the subject of "The Development of Community Medicine in the Reorganized National Health Service."

(8) The Stewart Prize—certificate and £50, awarded by recommendation in recognition of important work done on the origin and spread of epidemic disease—to Dr. C. E. Gordon Smith, of London, for his research on arthropod-borne diseases and the interrelationships of virus, vectors, and human animal hosts.

The Dawson Williams Prize, which is awarded by recommendation of the Trustees of the Dawson Williams Memorial Fund for outstanding work in paediatrics, was awarded in 1974 to D. Innes Williams, F.R.C.S., of London, for his work on genitourinary surgery in childhood.

# **Association Notices**

#### Armed Forces Committee: Nomination of Members for Co-option

The constitution of the Armed Forces Committee allows for the co-option of two representatives of the rank of Major or equivalent (Lieutenant-Commander or Squadron Leader) or below (one of whom should preferably be of specialist status) from the medical branch of each of the three Services. Last session the following members were co-opted:

Royal Navy

Surgeon Lieutenant P. Clarke (Gosport) Surgeon Lieutenant Commander R. Harland (Plymouth).

Armv

Captain I. M. M. Bagshaw (Chatham) Major J. R. Bird (Southampton).

Royal Air Force

Squadron Leader W. R. Fitzgerald (Ely) Squadron Leader J. R. Greig (Hornchurch).

Serving medical officers are now invited to nominate members of the Association in the Armed Forces in the above mentioned ranks for co-option to the Committee for the 1974-5 session. The members listed above are eligible for reappointment provided their rank is not now above that of Major or equivalent.

Nominations should be sent to the Secretary of the Association by Tuesday, 20 August 1974, and nominees will be informed of the co-options made by the Armed Forces Committee following its first meeting after the closing date.

DEREK STEVENSON, Secretary.

#### Branch and Division Meetings to be Held

Members proposing to attend meetings marked\* are asked to notify in advance the honorary secretary concerned.

Wakefield, Pontefract and Castleford Division.—At centre, Pontefract, Monday, 29 July, 8 for 8.15 p.m., meeting. -At postgraduate

### Branch and Division Officers Elected

Bournemouth Division.—Chairman, Dr. R. G. Nicholson. Vice-chairman, Dr. J. Lee-Potter. Honorary Secretary, Dr. M. Freeth.

Bradford Division.—Chairman, Mr. F. R. Martin. Vice-chairman, Dr. H. Sanderson. Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, Dr. F. B. Coates. Assistant Honorary Secretary, Dr. A. Craig.

Buckinghamshire Division.—Chairman, Dr. D. Davies. Vice-chairman, Dr. I. Yule. Honorary Secretary, Dr. C. Campbell. Honorary Treasurer, Dr. J. Chappel.

Burton upon Trent Division.—Chairman, Dr. S. Happel. Vice-chairman, Dr. A. R. Ray. Honorary Secretary, Dr. R. J. Mountain. Honorary Treasurer, Dr. T. G. Moloney.

Hendon Division.—Chairman, Dr. A. D. Manning. Vice-chairman, Dr. J. H. Clough. Honorary Secretary, Dr. J. W. McCarthy. Honorary Treasurer, Dr. D. J. Trevan.

Kesteven Division.—Dr. M. F. Allision has been appointed Honorary Secretary.

orary Secretary.

Reading Division.—Chairman, Dr. A. J. Karlish. Vice-chairman, Dr. M. P. Cosham. Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, Dr. C. J. Hughes. St. Marylebone Division.—Chairman, Dr. E. Horowitz. Honorary Secretary, Dr. E. D. Page. Honorary Treasurer, Mr. N. Asherson.

Salisbury Division.—Dr. W. D. Graham-Brown has been appointed

Salisbury Division.—Dr. W. D. Graham-Brown has been appointed Honorary Secretary.
Southwark Division.—Chairman, Dr. C. W. J. Claydon. Vice-chairman, Dr. J. A. D. Anderson. Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, Dr. E. M. Rosser.
Sunderland Division.—Chairman, Dr. B. Mittra. Vice-chairman, Dr. C. Nelson. Honorary Secretary, Dr. I. A. MacRae. Honorary Treasurer, Mr. S. Cohen.
Wakefield, Pontefract and Castleford Division.—Chairman, Dr. H. Woodson. Vice-chairman, Mr. L. Bell. Honorary Secretary, Dr. D. B. Oughtibridge. Honorary Treasurer, Dr. L. Burns.
Worcester and Bromsgrove Branch.—President, Dr. J. A. Rigby. Vice-president, Mr. J. A. James. Honorary Secretary, Dr. H. M. White. Honorary Treasurer, Dr. A. A. Vickers.