Nobel medicine prize is won by scientists for work on chromosomal telomeres

BMJ 2009; 339 doi: (Published 06 October 2009) Cite this as: BMJ 2009;339:b4120
  1. Geoff Watts
  1. 1London

    As widely predicted, the 2009 Nobel prize in physiology or medicine has been awarded to one Australian and two US biologists for their work on the role of telomeres, the molecular caps that lie at the end of each of the chromosomes. Understanding the purpose and actions of telomeres has implications ranging from ageing to cancer.

    The winners, who share a prize usually worth about 10 million Swedish kronor (£0.9m; €1m; $1.4m), are Carol Greider of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore, Jack Szostak of Harvard Medical School in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Elizabeth Blackburn, an Australian who is now at the …

    View Full Text

    Sign in

    Log in through your institution

    Free trial

    Register for a free trial to to receive unlimited access to all content on for 14 days.
    Sign up for a free trial